SD Chinese Historic Museum: Unfinished Story

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fanning his face with Chinese sandalwood fan teenage boy told me that he was a volunteer and only been at the place for two weeks”., as a hot warning breeze embraces me and piercing look of Donnie Yen in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny, I knew what the boy was telling me at that moment, “don’t border me and “N” don’t even think about it!” so I was on my own and my visit was short and brief.

Meet with suspicion that reminded me of ongoing issues of race and stereotypes discussed in my history class, including very own Chinese history under Scott Act of 1882 i was astonished. Nonetheless, I thought to myself that in a formation of the museum that is modeled to narrate- Chinese history in California and rationales to build their own system of procuring jobs, from inception one expect to see more details [in spite of vital role Chinese played in developing American west coast to prosperity through fishing industries, railroad and building of Del Coronado Hotel] of how the State and federal acts were significant part of a vicious, violent, brutal, systematic campaign of ethnic cleansing against Chinese migrants

Borrowing from the words of Tom Hom’s “Most people see things as they are… An artist sees things as they should be or could be!” Unfortunately the narrative that the museum attempt to relay is not as it should be; therefore, San Diego Chinese Museum its unfinished story.

Your visit to the Museum will help to finish writing this fascinating story.

Lazarus Archison T.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

